CURRICULUM VITAE

Jens K. Nørskov Villum Kann Rasmussen Professor Technical University of Denmark jkno@dtu.dk

Education:

1979 PhD in Theoretical Physics, University of Aarhus, Denmark
1976 MSc in Physics and Chemistry, University of Aarhus, Denmark

Professional career:

2019-	Chair, Danish National Research Foundation
2018-	Villum Kann Rasmussen Professor, Department of Physics, Technical University of Denmark
2014-2018	Senior Fellow, Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford University
2013-2014	Director, Chemical Science Division, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
2010-2018	Leland T. Edwards Professor in the School of Engineering, Stanford University
2010-2018	Professor, Departments of Chemical Engineering and Photon Science, Stanford University and
	SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
2010-2018	Director, SUNCAT Center for Interface Science and Catalysis, Stanford University and SLAC
	National Accelerator Laboratory
2009-2010	Director, Catalysis for Sustainable Energy Initiative, Technical University of Denmark
2006-2010	Director, The Lundbeck Foundation's Center for Atomic-scale Materials Design (CAMD),
	Technical University of Denmark
2004-2009	Director, DTU Nano-technology Center, Technical University of Denmark
2001-2008	Chair, Danish Center for Scientific Computing (DCSC)
1999	Visiting Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA
1993-2003	Director, Center for Atomic-scale Materials Physics (CAMP), Technical University of Denmark
1992-2010	Professor of theoretical physics, Department of Physics, Technical University of Denmark
1987-1992	Professor by special appointment of the Danish Minister of Research, Laboratory of Applied
	Physics, Technical University of Denmark
1982-1985	Assistant Professor, Nordita, (Nordic Institute for Theoretical Physics), Copenhagen
1981, 85-87	Scientific Staff, Haldor Topsøe A/S, Lyngby
1979 -1981	Post Doctoral Fellow, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, New York; Nordita (Nordic Institute for
	Theoretical Physics), Copenhagen; Århus University

Research:

Research interests in the theoretical description of surfaces, catalysis, materials, and nanostructures with special focus on energy transfer and sustainable chemistry. Ca. 580 published papers (cited >195 000 times (>23 000 in 2021), H-index 209, according to Google Scholar; cited >150 000 times (>21 000 in 2021), H-index 188 according to ISI), 22 patents or patent applications.

Recent awards and honors (last 10 years):

- Eni Award for Frontiers in Energy, Rome, 2022
- Ångström Medal, Uppsala University, 2022
- Havinga Medal, Leiden University, 2019
- Honorary plaque at the Danish Society of Engineers, 2019
- Dr. Honoris Causa, Technical University of München, 2018
- Niels Bohr International Gold Medal, 2018
- ETH Zurich Chemical Engineering Medal, 2018
- Clarivate Citation Laurate, 2017
- European Inventor Award, European Patent Office, 2016
- Murray Raney Award, Organic Reactions Catalysis Society, 2016
- The Carlsberg Foundation Research Prize, Royal Danish Academy of Science and Letters, 2015
- Rigmor og Carl Holst-Knudsen's Award, Aarhus University, 2015
- Irving Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics, American Physical Society, 2015
- Elected Foreign Member of the US Academy of Engineering, 2014
- Michel Boudart Award for the Advancement of Catalysis, American and European Catalysis Societies, 2013
- Hagemann Medal, Technical University of Denmark, 2013
- Dr. Honoris Causa, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway, 2012