CURRICULUM VITAE

Jens K. Nørskov Villum Kann Rasmussen Professor Technical University of Denmark jkno@dtu.dk

Education:

1979 PhD in Theoretical Physics, University of Aarhus, Denmark1976 MSc in Physics and Chemistry, University of Aarhus, Denmark

Professional career:

2019-	Chair, Danish National Research Foundation
2018-	Villum Kann Rasmussen Professor, Department of Physics, Technical University of Denmark
2014-2018	Senior Fellow, Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford University
2013-2014	Director, Chemical Science Division, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
2010-2018	Leland T. Edwards Professor in the School of Engineering, Stanford University
2010-2018	Professor, Departments of Chemical Engineering and Photon Science, Stanford University and
	SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
2010-2018	Director, SUNCAT Center for Interface Science and Catalysis, Stanford University and SLAC
	National Accelerator Laboratory
2009-2010	Director, Catalysis for Sustainable Energy Initiative, Technical University of Denmark
2006-2010	Director, The Lundbeck Foundation's Center for Atomic-scale Materials Design (CAMD),
	Technical University of Denmark
2004-2009	Director, DTU Nano-technology Center, Technical University of Denmark
2001-2008	Chair, Danish Center for Scientific Computing (DCSC)
1999	Visiting Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA
1993-2003	Director, Center for Atomic-scale Materials Physics (CAMP), Technical University of Denmark
1992-2010	Professor of theoretical physics, Department of Physics, Technical University of Denmark
1987-1992	Professor by special appointment of the Danish Minister of Research, Laboratory of Applied
	Physics, Technical University of Denmark
1982-1985	Assistant Professor, Nordita, (Nordic Institute for Theoretical Physics), Copenhagen
1981, 85-87	Scientific Staff, Haldor Topsøe A/S, Lyngby
1979 -1981	Post Doctoral Fellow, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, New York; Nordita (Nordic Institute for
	Theoretical Physics), Copenhagen; Århus University

Research:

Research interests in the theoretical description of surfaces, catalysis, materials, and nanostructures with special focus on energy transfer and sustainable chemistry. Ca. 580 published papers (cited >180 000 times (>24 000 in 2021), H-index 204, according to Google Scholar; cited >140 000 times (>19 000 in 2021), H-index 184 according to ISI), 22 patents or patent applications.

Awards and honors:

- Havinga Medal, Leiden University, 2019
- Honorary plaque at the Danish Society of Engineers, 2019
- Dr. Honoris Causa, Technical University of München, 2018
- Niels Bohr International Gold Medal, 2018
- ETH Zurich Chemical Engineering Medal, 2018
- Clarivate Citation Laurate, 2017
- European Inventor Award, European Patent Office, 2016
- Murray Raney Award, Organic Reactions Catalysis Society, 2016
- The Carlsberg Foundation Research Prize, Royal Danish Academy of Science and Letters, 2015
- Honorary Professor of the Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2015
- Rigmor og Carl Holst-Knudsen's Award, Aarhus University, 2015
- Irving Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics, American Physical Society, 2015
- Elected Foreign Member of the US Academy of Engineering , 2014
- Michel Boudart Award for the Advancement of Catalysis, North American Catalysis Society and the European Federation of Catalysis Societies, 2013
- Hagemann Medal, Technical University of Denmark, 2013

- Dr. Honoris Causa, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway, 2012
- Elected Member of Academia Europea
- Giuseppe Parravano Memorial Award for Excellence in Catalysis Research, Michigan Catalysis Society, 2011
- Alwin Mittasch Award, Germany, 2009
- Gerhard Ertl Lecture Award, Berlin, Germany, 2009
- Gabor A. Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis, American Chemical Society, 2009
- Science of Hydrogen and Energy Award, Switzerland, 2009
- Grundfos Prize, Copenhagen, 2007
- Mulliken Medal, University of Chicago, Illinois, USA, 2007
- Dr. Honoris Causa, Technical University of Eindhoven, The Netherlands, 2006
- The Innovation Prize, DTU, 2005
- Elected Fellow of the American Physical Society, 2003
- Richard A. Glenn Award, American Chemical Society, 2003
- Elected member of the Royal Danish Academy of Science and Letters, 1996
- Villum Kann Rasmussen's Award, Lyngby, 1991
- Danish Physical Society's Prize of 1990
- Samuel Friedman (Rescue) Award, 1989
- Reinholdt W. Jorch's Award, 1987
- Elected member of the Danish Academy of Engineering (ATV), 1987
- Professor by special appointment of the Danish Minister of Research and Education, 1987
- ECOSS prize, Cambridge, UK 1979

Lectureships:

- BASF Distinguished Lecture, Wayne State University, Detroit, 2022
- Marvel Lecture, EPFL, Switzerland, 2020
- Niels Bohr Lecture, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen, 2019
- Professor Mikhail Slin'ko Honorary Lecture, Ghent, 2018
- H. C. Ørsted Lecture, Technical University of Denmark, 2018
- Institute for Molecular Engineering Distinguished Lecture, University of Chicago, 2017
- Berkeley Lecture, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, 2016
- Zhnag Dayu Lecture, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2015
- Dodge Lecture, Yale University, 2015
- Bayer Distinguished Lecture, University of Pittsburgh, 2014
- DGIST Distinguished Lecture, Daegu Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea, 2014
- Donald L. Katz Lecture in Chemical Engineering, University of Michigan, 2011.
- Kenneth S. Pitzer Memorial Lecture, Department of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley, 2009
- Olaf A. Hougen Visiting Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2007
- Mulliken Lecture, University of Chicago, Illinois, 2007
- Magister Lecture, University of Barcelona, 2004
- Distinguished Catalyst Lecture, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Washington, 2004
- G.C.A. Schuit Lecture, University of Delaware, 2002
- Ford Distinguished Lecture, Dearborn, Michigan, 2001
- Gwathmey Distinguished Lecture, University of Virginia, 1998